Please use the online marriage license application. You will then need to bring birth certificates and ID for both applicants to the clerk’s office.
You apply for the license at the Clerk’s Office in the county where one of the applicants resides. The license can then be used anywhere in the State of Michigan.
Out-of-state applicants must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place.
There is a 3 day waiting period after applying and before the license can be picked up or mailed. If license is being mailed it cannot be mailed out of St. Joseph County. The license expires 33 days from application date.
If under 18 (16 or 17) must bring parent to sign consent form - parent must also show identification.
The St. Joseph County Clerk performs marriage ceremonies within the Courthouse facilities by appointment only.
A District Court Magistrate will perform ceremonies for a $10.00 fee. Call the County Clerk’s office to schedule an appointment at (269) 467-5602.
Please be advised that the St. Joseph County Clerk’s Office is governed by the State of Michigan on the issuance of marriage licenses.
It is the responsibility of the couple being married to determine the legality of the officiant performing the ceremony. To ensure full compliance with the law, you may want to seek the guidance of an attorney in interpreting the law regarding "Persons authorized to solemnize marriages".